The Roar

Various hobbies, projects and mantras helped many students survive 2020’s hardships

Despite the downsides to her year, Gandotra said she realized 2020 had many positive aspects, too.
January 24, 2021

For many SCHS students, 2020 had its share of chaos and stress. Some, however, managed to survive the year through activities that granted hope during troubling times.  Many students started projects...

REVIEW: Season 3 of hit Netflix show “Disenchantment” delivered intriguing storylines, witty humor, diversity, and more

The new season of
January 20, 2021

Matt Groening already has a seemingly unlimited amount of creative shows. However, on Friday, Jan. 15, he added yet another addition to his collection: Season 3 of the hit show “Disenchantment.” The...

REVIEW: The re-release of “Scott Pilgrim vs. The World: The Game – Complete Edition” is enjoyable and entertaining in all aspects

“Scott Pilgrim vs. The World: The Game – Complete Edition” is sure to satisfy anyone who plays.
January 20, 2021

Back in 2010, the movie “Scott Pilgrim vs. The World” debuted, based on the 2005 graphic novel series “Scott Pilgrim” by Bryan Lee O'Malley. While the movie was considered amazing by its audience,...

Students share their anticipations for music and musical expression in the coming years

Students have varying opinions about what they hope the future of music holds.
December 29, 2020

Throughout modern history, the musical expression of society’s youth has defined large parts of decades. Many believe the future of musical expression in the 2020s is uncertain. However, some SCHS students...

REVIEW: Netflix film ‘Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom’ is a powerful retelling of history

Actress Viola Davis plays
December 19, 2020

The 2020 Netflix movie “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” based on August Wilson’s 1982 play of the same name, was released Friday, Dec. 18. The movie follows a day in the life of Ma Rainey and her band.  Ma...

Load more stories
The student news site of Santa Clara High School